project: Marah

project management for the things that really matter

fire drills are necessary

leave a comment »

Do you dread fire drills?  Scheduled or surprise, they generally fall into the category of  “I’m doing this because I know I have to, not because I want to”.  Whenever that dreaded, loud siren, and the accompanying strobes go off, I am always in the middle of something.

Over the years fire drills have become fun, ever since I started seeing them as a way to get to know my neighbors, co-workers, or other folks I share space with. I started seeing them as a way to remember where all the exits are and to network. I will always be in the middle of something,  so why not turn what could be an annoyance and disruption into an opportunity.

That’s exactly what the SouthWest Air Flight Attendant does in this (internet famous) youtube video:

Outside of turning annoyances into opportunity, it’s important to remember where all the exits are,  just in case the next time really is a fire or an emergency landing.

United Flight 1549, January 2009

Written by marahrosenberg

14 April 2009 at 1:29 am

Leave a Reply

